You can add users to Trusted only if you had at least one completed trade with them. Adding can be done from My Trades section by left-clicking on three points in the upper right corner on the user's tab, or in the upper right corner of the page.
The same is true when adding users to Favorites. To add to Favorites go to View profile and click on the star.
Users can be removed from the lists by clicking the buttons again.